A tribute to blues rock

My music schooling is highly influenced by two bands who was ‘the shit’ during 2000 and 2001. It was then took the definite step from radio music to truly trying to find out what it was I really wanted to listen to. These bands were The Strokes and White Stripes, and they were my gods. I listened to their albums obsessively and thought that the White Stripes song The Union Forever was about my own relationship with my father, and The Strokes song Last Night always meant compulsory dancing, no matter the location. I look back at these times, when I also attended a music festival with a sleeveless shirt where I had written You’re Pretty Good Looking (For A Girl) with a red felt pen, fondly. These days the bands are more loved by myself for nostalgic reasons, although I do occasionally put on The Dead Leaves and The Dirty ground and rock out in my underwear when no one else is around. But that is what every music lover does to his/hers old favorite tunes, right?

Fortunately there is new music being produced by one of the founding fathers of my music schooling: Jack White. As some of you know he formed the band The Dead Weather quite recently, a rowdy Blues Rock orchestra with Jack on the drums and Alison Mosshart, from the once amazing The Kills, singing (or trying to rape the mike depending on how you see it). I just got their second album, and dear god! Just as Richard Yates wrote the book I’ve always wanted to write (Revolutionary Road), The Dead Weather plays Blues Rock exactly how I would play it if I could play an instrument. On their 2009 debut Hore Hound and the 2010 follow up Sea Of Cowards the bands spit out dirty, rowdy, rock filled with base and gritty atmosphere that is taken to its limit by White and Mosshart who spit out bad ass lines in the same way that made me love the first Von Bondies album and Grinderman‘s sexual frustration. There is no better way to prepare for a floorball title fight than with angry blues rock geniuses!

Leave a Reply

