You know I dreamed about you, for 29 years, before I saw you

When it comes to art there are some undisputed masters in my book. The National, and singer Matt Berninger in particular, is penned on one of the first pages. Ever since I saw them play a fantastic gig in Rote Fabrik in Zürich in 2005 this band has been a reoccurring orchestra in my ears. Now of course they have blown up into something much much bigger. I’ve always struggled to pin point what makes The National so great. And even though they lyrics have rarely been the central part for me with their music there are some true gems. So, without further explanation. Here are ten The National lines that I wish to hear tomorrow when they play Cirkus in Stockholm. I’ll be at the very front.

1. ‘It takes an ocean not to break’ (Terrible Love)

2. ‘Ada I can hear the sound of your laugh through the wall’ (Ada)

3. ‘Tonight you just close your eyes. And I just watch you. Slip away’ (About Today)

4. ‘My bodyguard shows her revolver to anyone who asks’ (Lit Up)

5. ‘You know I dreamed about you, for 29 years, before I saw you’ (Slow Show)

6. ‘You must have known I’d do this someday. Break my arms around the one I love. And be forgiven by the time my lover comes’ (Daughters of the soho riots)

7. ‘Make up something to believe in your heart of hearts so you have something to wear on your sleeve of sleeves’ (Mistaken For Strangers)

8. ‘Karen, put me in a chair, fuck me and make me a drink. I’ve lost direction, and I’m past my peak. I’m telling you this isn’t me. No, this isn’t me. Karen, believe me, you just haven’t seen my good side yet’ (Karen)

9. Im a confident liar. Have my head in the oven so you know where i’ll be. I try to be more romantic (Conversation 16)

10. ‘Hold ourselves together with our arms around the stereo for hours. While it sings to itself or whatever it does
when it sings to itself of its long lost loves. I’m getting tied, I’m forgetting why (Apartment Story)

Leave a Reply

