It takes an ocean not to break part 3: US indierock

US indie music had a huge year with older bands such as The Walkmen and The National releasing fantastic albums while a new San Francisco orchestra and stoner surfer girl doing some perfect pop music paving new roads. Today two of those albums are given a closer look:

The Walkmen – Lisbon
I only found the Walkmen’s song The New Year (that I wrote about here) in 2010 and immediately thought it was one of the best songs I’ve heard in years. I think this often but this time the feeling stayed on for longer. As I sat with a troubled mind this summer both in the lyrics and desperation completely smacked me in the head. In a good way. Then came their new album Lisbon and it was pure class all the way through. This fall this was one of the records that was around the most as the desperation and raw power in their music reached whole new levels with this album. Outstanding songs: Juveniles (above) and Stranded.

The National – High Violet
This year my favorite orchestra came out darker and heavier than ever. Hope was nowhere to be seen and Matt Berninger stood in an ocean of angst beating on his heart while screaming ‘it takes an ocean not to break’ during the Way Out West festival this summer. I felt like going home afterwards so I would not risk losing the sheer power this band has on me. Then I ended up staying and dancing to LCD Soundsystem. Many people have written many great things about this band (I can suggest this recent review of a London concert for those interested), and it would surprise me anyone reading this have missed them, so I will not dwell on but just conclude that in my book this is the greatest band on earth. For those of you that do not believe me I will forward you to my last.fm page.

For continued coverage of the 2010 year in music check back after the holidays where Swedish indie pop, strings and magic things will be explained and covered.

Leave a comment